Attorneys for Injured & Neglected Patients at Aviston Countryside Manor

Aviston Countryside ManorMany nursing home residents suffer serious injury from skin breakdown that can easily degrade to a life-threatening bedsore. Because of that, the nursing staff is required to perform optimal incontinence care and wound care to minimize the potential development of bedsores (pressure sores; pressure wounds; pressure ulcers; decubitus ulcers). Unfortunately, not all nursing staff members receive proper training or adequate supervision to ensure the health and well-being of nursing home patients are maintained. Sadly, Rosenfeld Injury Lawyers have represented mistreated and neglected patients who reside at Illinois nursing homes like Aviston Countryside Manor.

Aviston Countryside Manor

This Center is a 97-certified-bed ‘for profit’ Medicare/Medicaid-participating facility providing nursing services to residents of Aviston in Clinton County, Illinois. The nursing home is located at:

450 West 1st St.
Aviston, IL 62216
(618) 228-7615

In addition to providing skilled nursing care, Aviston Countryside Manor offers physical, speech, occupational respiratory therapies along with IV therapy.

Aviston Nursing Home Resident Safety Concerns

Both the federal government and the state of Illinois routinely update their nursing home database systems to reflect all safety concerns, health violations, opened investigations and filed complaints. This information can be found on numerous websites including Medicare.gov.

Currently, Aviston Countryside Manor maintains an overall three out of five available stars rating in the Medicare star rating comparative analysis system. This includes three out of five stars for health inspections and staffing issues and two out of five stars for quality measures. The Clinton County nursing home neglect attorneys at Rosenfeld Injury Lawyers have found serious safety concerns at this facility that include:

  • Failure to Maintain an Environment Free of the Spread of Infection

    In a summary statement of deficiencies dated 06/10/2016, a state investigator noted a deficient practice during an annual licensure and certification survey concerning the facility's failure to "assess the need for incontinent care and assist with and hygiene after toileting. The findings by the state investigator were based on interviews, observation and record reviews.

    The failure involved a resident with moderately impaired cognition who “requires extensive assistance for personal hygiene and toileting.” In the early afternoon of 06/07/2016, two Certified Nurses’ Aides (CNAs) were transferring a resident “from her wheelchair to the toilet.” The resident’s “incontinent brief was soiled with urine and was removed by [a CNA].” The resident “smelled strongly of urine [...and] wiped her perineal area with toilet paper several times.” One of the Certified Nurses’ Aides “applied a new incontinence brief to [the resident] pulled up [the resident’s] pants.”

    After toileting, the two Certified Nurses’ Aides transfer the resident “back into the wheelchair, then into bed [...and] did not prompt her assist [the resident] to wash her hands.” The investigator reviewed the resident’s 03/10/2016 Care Plan that documents in part “I am at risk for skin breakdown. I require assisting with personal needs, which places me at an increased risk for skin breakdown.”

    The investigator noted that the actions by the Certified Nurses’ Aides failed to follow the facility’s August 1996 policy and procedure titled: Activities of Daily Living the documents in part:

    “Facility staff will allow residents care for themselves as able, teaching appropriate techniques for ADL (activities of daily living) … To provide assistance to resident’s daily life functions, to supervise resident activities in order to maintain optimal function as long as possible.”

  • Failure to Provide Adequate Treatment and Services to Prevent the Development of a Pressure Sore or Allow an Existing Pressure Sore to Heal

    In a summary statement of deficiencies dated 06/10/2016, a notation was made by a state surveyor during an annual licensure and certification survey involving the facility's failure to "implement interventions to prevent the formation of a pressure ulcer ensure a dressing was in place for [one resident at the facility.” The investigator noted that “this failure resulted in [the resident] developing a facility-acquired Stage II pressure ulcer to her sacrum.”

    The failure involved a severely cognitively impaired resident who “requires extensive assistance with bed mobility and is occasionally incontinent of urine” with a Braden Scale score that noted the resident’s risk for skin breakdown. A review of the resident’s 05/08/2016 through 05/14/2016 Weekly Skin Reports revealed the resident’s facility-acquired pressure sore was first noted on 05/13/2016 as a “Stage II to the sacrum measuring 1.0 centimeters by 1.5 centimeters by 0.1 centimeters.”

    Observation of the resident on the morning of 06/09/2016 found the resident in a reclining position in a day area recliner incontinent of the bladder with the smell of urine. The resident had “no dressing to the sacral area” as directed by their physician.

Aviston Illinois Nursing Home Abuse Lawyers

If you, or your loved one, have suffered a facility-acquired bedsore or developed a preventable infection while a patient at Aviston Countryside Manor, call the Rosenfeld Injury Lawyers law firm. Our Illinois nursing home attorneys can provide numerous legal options to hold those responsible for your loved one’s harm financially and legally accountable.

We urge you to contact our Clinton County elder abuse law office at (888) 424-5757 to schedule a free, no-obligation case evaluation appointment today. No upfront fees are required because we accept every nursing home neglect and abuse case through contingency fee agreements, meaning our fees are paid after we have negotiated your out-of-court settlement or have successfully resolved your case in front of a judge and jury.

Sources:

http://bit.do/RILnursingAvistCM

http://www.avistoncountrysidemanor.com/index.cfm?pID=1397

http://www.idph.state.il.us/ltc/docs/SurveyResult/6011340FI06102016.PDF

Disclaimer: The above inspection findings are take from public sources including the State Department of Health and from Medicare inspection conducted at the facility at least every fifteen months. Rosenfeld Injury Lawyers cannot confirm that the content on this site is the most recent information related to the facilities mentions.

The inspection findings published are not complete. You may find the most up to date information here: dph.illinois.gov or medicare.gov.

The deficiencies/citations listed on this page may have been corrected or substantially corrected after the date of the inspection and date of publishing this material. This page is a legal advertisement and a resource of information for visitors. This material is not endorsed by the facility noted or by any governmental agency. Rosenfeld Injury Lawyers does not have any affiliation with the facility.

Client Reviews
Jonathan Rosenfeld was professionally objective, timely, and knowledgeable. Also, his advice was extremely effective regarding my case. In addition, Jonathan was understanding and patient pertaining to any of my questions or concerns. I was very happy with the end result and I highly recommend Jonathan Rosenfeld.
★★★★★
Extremely impressed with this law firm. They took control of a bad motorcycle crash that left my uncle seriously injured. Without any guarantee of a financial recovery, they went out and hired accident investigators and engineers to help prove how the accident happened. I am grateful that they worked on a contingency fee basis as there was no way we could have paid for these services on our own. Ethan Armstrong, Google User
★★★★★
This lawyer really helped me get compensation for my motorcycle accident case. I know there is no way that I could have gotten anywhere near the amount that Mr. Rosenfeld was able to get to settle my case. Thank you. Daniel Kaim, Avvo User
★★★★★
Jonathan helped my family heal and get compensation after our child was suffered a life threatening injury at daycare. He was sympathetic and in constant contact with us letting us know all he knew every step of the way. We were so blessed to find Jonathan! Giulia, Avvo User
★★★★★
Jonathan did a great job helping my family navigate through a lengthy lawsuit involving my grandmother's death in a nursing home. Through every step of the case, Jonathan kept my family informed of the progression of the case. Although our case eventually settled at a mediation, I really was impressed at how well prepared Jonathan was to take the case to trial. Lisa, Avvo User
★★★★★
Contact Us for a Free Consultation (888) 424-5757
Chicago Office Map